An Accurate Representation…

https://i1.wp.com/fc05.deviantart.net/fs70/f/2010/259/d/9/an_accurate_representation____by_seph_hunter-d2yu8m8.png

…of what I do all night at my new job. Not pictured: depression and wanting to claw my eyes out. I came back from SPX all pumped up for comics again and now I can’t do them because I’m working on freelance stuff in the morning and then working from 3 to 1112 every night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to An Accurate Representation…

  1. PJ says:

    I am right there with you, sir.

  2. Garrett Perrella says:

    Well balls.

  3. Paperblack says:

    Yeah, work is shit. You’ll work out a good schedule eventually though. Or another job. Adding a social life may be even tougher though 😛

  4. Gavin says:

    Awww… You CAN’T HAVE IT BACK!

  5. desdim says:

    Hmmm…I remember working a similar shift (3-11:30, very similar indeed), which I liked because it was quieter (in the business sense) and once I finished all my alternative work I would basically brainstorm ideas, choreograph fight scenes, and jot down whatever I thought was good. Unfortunately, that shift seems like it eats up your entire day like a gluttonous time-cow. You get up, you get a little done, and then you’re off to work and the day is over by the time you clock out. After all, you have to get to sleep to wake up and do it all again………….stay in school kids!

    • Joe says:

      It’s such a fucking waste. I don’t even get any downtime to think about comics.

      • desdim says:

        A daunting and perilous danger awaits our hero as he puts his figurative life on the line in pursuit of his quest for comic integrity. Is this the end of Joe? Will Ships + Dip become property of Disney? And who or what is the mysterious “Monty”? Find out next time on:
        Jo(e)urnalin Comix Z

  6. Mr. Edens says:

    Ohh yeah. It’s gotten to the point for me that I do thumbnails and even all pencils on my lunch break, inks and colors when I have time at night. I’m still trying to iron out a system. I know your comic is based on daily events a lot of times, so that’s gotta probably be hard to maybe get a buffer. But a buffer is what I’m trying to get…a week or two would be amazing…but probably won’t ever happen.

  7. Randall says:

    Hey, look! It’s letting me comment now.

    Also, I’m with you. I am glad for the freelance work I have, but I have five comic scripts I would kill to be able to stop time and work on instead.

  8. Anii says:

    n w n try to find a way~! i was all depressed until i quite this job that was really upsetting me. >_> now im free.. but.. broke… sigh

  9. Andrew Kennedy says:

    I really hope things get better for you, man. Maybe if you stick with it, something better will come up.

  10. scotticus says:

    We’re like comic-ing twins 😀

  11. lauren b says:

    you can always stay up an extra hour to do a daily

  12. Ktshy says:

    I totally hear this! I was super pumped after comiccon and then just flatlined on my own stuff because of work deadlines, baaah.

Leave a Reply

