The Situation

Right, so I’ve put off talking about this as long as possible…

I’m moving. In more ways than one. Firstly, I know I haven’t updated in ages and that’s because I’ll be moving my comics to a new site at GhostBucket.com (don’t bother going there because there’s nothing there… yet). I’ve been saving up comics I’ve done for the new site and I’m currently redrawing/rebooting Ships +Dip (aka ‘The Airship Guy minicomic’) for it too.

And I’m moving… well, physically. Again. Earlier this year I moved back in with my parents. As some of you may know, I am a pastor’s kid as my mom is a Lutheran minister. That isn’t the problem though.

Last August, the governing body of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America voted to allow the ordination of homosexuals in committed, monogamous relationships… and the one church my mom is at (she’s got two, the other one I love dearly. They’re practically family.) went completely fucking APESHIT.

They’ve voted to pull out of the ELCA (the governing church organization) and have not been terribly nice about it. There are forces at work in the situation who are not playing by the rules and the degree of absolute hate in these people for another group of people based on what really isn’t any of their business to begin with is simply astounding to me. They are no more Christian in their attitude and actions than a pack of baptized wolves.

My mom has now resigned from the church and since they own the house we live in, we’ve got to move out. Mom’s taken a second job at a customer support line in order to stay at the other church part-time. I’ve probably said more than I should at this point but it’s been weighing pretty heavily on our whole family and I simply ask that you keep us in our prayers (although if that’s not your thing, thoughts and well wishes are a-okay too).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to The Situation

  1. allison says:

    Hey, we’re all here for you, hon. You do what you have to do, and we’ll stay right with ya.
    I do hope everything works out okay.

  2. thezombiegal says:

    totally praying for ya!

  3. Koltreg says:

    Same thing with my mom. One church went apeshit, decided they didn’t want her and now they want to drop out of the ELCA. Ugh religion.

  4. Garrett Perrella says:

    Got your back sir. Hang in there.

  5. samacaw says:

    hey man, i’ll pray for you. hang in there!! it’ll get better :D

  6. Alex says:

    I wish you the best buddy.

    And I hope your mom can find a nicer line of work.

  7. Josh! says:

    You don’t need to have a huge website full of constant updates and comics for us to have you in our thoughts! Don’t worry, you got this, COMIXBRO!!

  8. Remi says:

    I’m really sorry to hear this. Sounds like a terrible, impossible situation. I hope your family can weather this storm. Really looking forward to your new comics, I miss the daily dose of Joe.

  9. Gavin says:

    :( Baptised wolves will now haunt my sleep!

  10. Eric Kubli says:

    Damn, Joe. That is some pretty heavy stuff. I really do with you the best whether or not the church makes any sense in any way in the near future. Much love, broseph.

  11. People can be so gross and irrational. Sorry to hear about this!

  12. Paul says:

    Thinking good thoughts, sir! Looking forward to the new comics site especially.

  13. Sayward says:

    If only Paul was still around so he could write a letter to whip these people into shape… keep us posted on how things pan out. I’m definitely praying for your real family and your church community.

    • Joe says:

      funny considering the church is called St. Paul’s…

      • desdim says:

        For a second i was thinking of paul the octopus. I’ll bet the two of them (the Pauls)are hanging out in heaven right now, *sniff*. Also, I have a spare room. In Virginia. Virginia Wolf. Anyways, love and prayers, for straight and gay alike.

  14. Josh says:

    Keep going man! The power of comics can change the woooooorrrrrlld!

  15. Anii says:

    Sheesh dude I hope everything works out ok *hugs prayers well wishes* :D If thar’s ever anything I can do to help lemme know… idk what an internet person such as myself can do… but just keep following what you know is right and things will work out *nod nod*

  16. Jessie says:

    Your mom has got to be in one of the hardest professions. I mean, it’s hard to find a job out there, but it seems ten times harder to find the right church. My friend’s dad got bounced all over the churches in Winston-Salem for years without getting work :/

    I’ll be thinking good thoughts for ya’ll.

  17. CCallahan says:

    I know it can’t mean too much; but I do wish you and all of your family the best. I’ll pray for you tonight.

  18. Rembrand says:

    Oh man, here’s to shitty days. Your mom seems like a good and strong person though, quitting for the right reasons. That’s the best kind of attitude in life so I’m sure everything will turn out okay man. Being the atheist that I am, I’ll at the least keep you guys in my thoughts for sure.

  19. Jeff Mazurek says:

    Count this as one time when I would have hoped that this was something rather light-hearted about an over-muscled fellow on a terrible TV-show.

    Should your dedication to life and family at all resemble the dedication you have for your art, I think you’ll be just fine in the long run. =)

    Like your drawing observed: “Keep Calm and Carry On.”

    Other note: my wife and I will actually be in Columbus, OH this coming weekend. So for a third time, I’ll ask: wanna meet up for a coffee or a beer somewhere?

  20. Tara says:

    Sorry I’m late, but yes many well-wishes and prayers are being sent your way. Moving is a bitch, I’m sorry :( I’m definitely looking forward to your future comic projects though, excited about the reboot of Ships & Dip and so on!

Leave a Reply

